BSPED James M Tanner Award

The James M Tanner Award is a Lifetime Achievement Award given to a BSPED member. It is the most prestigious BSPED award and is given in recognition of an outstanding overall contribution to the field of paediatric endocrinology and diabetes. It is named after Professor James Mourilyan Tanner, the British paediatric endocrinologist best known for his seminal growth studies and development of the Tanner scale.

This award acknowledges many facets including excellence in leadership, scientific research excellence, teaching and mentorship. It is awarded on an annual basis at the BSPED meeting. This is a new award launched at the 46th Annual BSPED meeting in Birmingham, November 2018.

Deadline for Nominations: 28 February 2019 for applications to be awarded at the 2019 BSPED meeting.

Nomination form

Application process

  • Self-nominations are not accepted
  • Candidates should be nominated by a BSPED member
  • All nominations should be submitted electronically to the BSPED Awards Committee Chair (Dr Helen Storr; by the application deadline
  • Nominations will only be accepted on completion of the accompanying nomination form and submission of the nominee's full CV (CV to be submitted by proposer or nominee)
  • Up to 2 optional supporting documents may also be submitted (see below) to provide evidence of the basis of the nomination
  • The award winner is required to present a lecture at the BSPED Annual Meeting at which they receive their award


  • UK paediatric endocrinologist/diabetologist
  • Must be a BSPED member
  • Previous winners and current BSPED Executive / Awards Committee members are not eligible to be nominated for the James M Tanner Award


  • Nominations will be acknowledged by email
  • The final decision will be made by the BSPED Awards Committee based on the candidate's excellence in leadership, lifetime achievement in teaching and research, and an outstanding overall contribution to the field of paediatric endocrinology and/or diabetes
  • The Awards Committee will meet at the beginning of May to review the applications
  • The award winner will be notified by the Chair of the Awards Committee by the end of May 2019. Candidates who have not received notification by this date should assume that they have not been successful

List of required documents (PDF format)

Suggested supporting documents (Up to 2 - PDF format)

  • Peer reviewed publication summary and list of up to 10 most significant publications (including citations - see publications template)
  • List of trainees/mentees and/or testimonials from trainees/mentees
  • Letters from patients/patient groups
  • List of national and international roles

Awards Committee

  • Helen Storr – Awards Committee Chair
  • Justin Davies – BSPED Chair
  • Jo Blair – BSPED Secretary
  • Sabah Alvi – BSPED Treasurer
  • Tabitha Randell – BSPED Clinical Committee Chair