We are grateful for the very strong and committed team of individuals acting as the backbone of the Society. If you would like to get in touch with a BSPED Committee, please contact the BSPED Office in the first instance. If you would like to be more involved with the BSPED, please visit our Vacancies Page.

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee is responsible for the strategic aims of the Society, financial planning, liaison with the Department of Health, the Royal College of Paediatrics and Child Health and the Society for Endocrinology. The committee is comprised of three elected Executive Officers: the Chair, Secretary and Treasurer and meets four times per year. The Executive Officers provide representation at the Clinical Committee, the Programme Organising Committee and the CSG.


Justin Davies, Southampton


Jo Blair, Liverpool


Sabah Alvi, Leeds


Clinical Committee

The Clinical Committee was established in 2009 to respond and give opinion on matters in clinical paediatric endocrinology and diabetes. The Committee also develops guidelines for optimal management of children with diabetes and endocrine disorders, participates in the development and maintenance of national audit, facilitates peer-review of paediatric endocrine centres to improve patient care and provides an interface with patient support groups. The Committee has representation from the Society for Endocrinology and Association of Children's Diabetes Clinicians and meets 4 times per year.


Tabitha Randell, Nottingham
Diabetes Officer Fiona Campbell, Leeds
Information Officer Neil Hopper, Sunderland
Clinical Guidelines Officer May Ng, Ormskirk
Audit and Peer Review Officer Indi Banerjee, Manchester
District General Hospital Officer John Schulga, Stirling
Clinical Standards Officer Christina Wei, London
Nursing Officer Pauline Musson, Southampton


 Clinical Committee Remit (61.2 kb)


Programme Organising Committee

The Programme Organising Committee is responsible for the planning and organisation of the annual BSPED meeting. The Committee is comprised of the local organiser/convenor, the local organiser of the forthcoming meeting, diabetes and endocrine nurse representatives, the CME Officer and Executive Officers.

Chair Caroline Steele, Wigan
2019 Convenor Justin Warner, Cardiff


BSPED Awards Committee

Awards Committee Chair Helen Storr, London
BSPED Chair Justin Davies, Southampton
BSPED Secretary Jo Blair, Liverpool
BSPED Treasurer Sabah Alvi, Leeds
BSPED Clinical Committee Chair Tabitha Randell, Nottingham


Other BSPED Representatives

BSPED Endocrine Nurse Officer Lee Martin, London
BSPED CME Officer / RCPCH Academic Liaison Officer Anitha Kumaran, Southampton
BSPED Clinical Trials Lead Carlo Acerini, Cambridge
RCPCH CSAC Chairman Mohammed Guftar Shaikh, Glasgow
BSPED Website Officer Christina Wei, London
CSAC Trainee Representatives

Hoong-Wei Gan, London

Suet Ching Chen, Glasgow

DSD Special Interest Group Chair Nils Krone, Sheffield
Adolescent & Young Adult Special Interest Group Chair Paul Dimitri, Rotherham
ACDC Chair May Ng, Ormskirk