You are here:  > Home  > About > About the BSPED
About the British Society for Paediatric Endocrinology and Diabetes (BSPED)

The society aims to improve the care of children and young people with endocrine disorders or diabetes mellitus, by bringing together professionals from a range of disciplines. This includes tertiary paediatric endocrinologists and diabetologists, general paediatricians, researchers, nurses and other healthcare professionals involved in the care of these patients.

The BSPED is recognised by the Royal College of Paediatrics and Child Health (RCPCH) as the sole UK society responsible for this field of paediatric medicine. We govern the training of doctors in paediatric endocrinology and diabetes, and actively support the ongoing training and education of healthcare professionals in this specialist area. The society encourages collaboration and open dialogue, with abundant opportunities for the dissemination of research results.

The BSPED promotes the generation of evidence-based guidelines that will lead to more consistent management of endocrine disorders and diabetes mellitus throughout the UK.

The society also aims to advance education in paediatric endocrinology and diabetes for professionals, patients and their parents. The BSPED is able to fund research and clinical audits with support from a number of benefactors.


History of the BSPED

The society was formally constituted and named at the Annual General Meeting in Liverpool in 1979. Before 1979, members met as the British Paediatric Endocrine Group (BPEG), which was formed following a paediatric endocrine symposium convened by Dr Connie Forsyth, in Dundee in April 1972.

The BSPED is one of the affiliated speciality groups of the former British Paediatric Association, now the Royal College of Paediatrics and Child Health.

Past Officers

Current officers and committee members are listed on our Committees page

Chair of the BSPED

Secretaries of BPEG & BSPED

Treasurers of BPEG & BSPED


Justin Davies, Southampton


Jo Blair, Liverpool


Sabah Alvi, Leeds

2013 - 2016

Tim Cheetham, Newcastle

2013 - 2016

Carlo Acerini, Cambridge

2013 - 2018

Assunta Albanese, London

2010 - 2013

Mehul Dattani, London

2008 - 2012

Justin Warner, Cardiff

2008 - 2013

Justin Davies, Southampton

2005 - 2010

Liz Crowne, Bristol

2002 - 2008

Jeremy Kirk, Birmingham

2000 - 2008

Amanda Ogilvy-Stuart, Cambridge

2001 - 2005

Charles Buchanan, London

1999 - 2002

Gary Butler, Leeds

1988 - 2000

John Honour, London

1997 - 2001

Jerry Wales, Sheffield

1993 - 1999

Peter Hindmarsh, London

1984 - 1988

David Hill, Sheffield

1993 - 1997

Tony Price, Manchester

1990 - 1993

Peter Swift, Leicester

1979 - 1984

Brian Rudd, Birmingham



1987 - 1990

Peter Betts, Southampton

1972 - 1979

William Hamilton, Glasgow



1984 - 1986

Colin Smith, Liverpool





1977 - 1984

Tony Price, Manchester