NIHR CRN Diabetes UK and BSPED Clinical Studies Group

Originally established in 2011, this group was re-launched, with generous support from Diabetes UK, and working in collaboration with the NIHR Clinical Research Network, in September 2017.

The aims of the group are:

  • to identify research priorities for children with endocrine and diabetes conditions and ensure that their views are central to the development of future research;
  • to support new study proposals;
  • to advise NIHR CRN on study feasibility and study delivery;
  • to support early career researchers with study design, signposting to clinical resources
  • to work with family groups and industry to advocate for children
  • to represent BSPED at European networks such as EUCADET, EnprEMA, Endo-ERN, Connect4Children

We meet at 2 face to face meetings a year, with telephone conferences in between. The endocrine studies group meets in the morning, and diabetes studies group in the afternoon, with networking over lunchtime.

You can find more information about current clinical trials and how to join them on our Active Clinical Studies page, or contact a subspecialty lead below.

Subspecialty leads:


Pituitary Mehul Dattani
DSD, Adrenal Nils Krone
Growth Helen Storr
Obesity Neil Wright
Bone and Calcium Wolfgang Högler
Thyroid Tim Cheetham
Hyperinsulinism Indi Banerjee
Endocrine tumours Jo Blair



Type 1 diabetes prevention/immunology studies John Gregory
Type 1 diabetes technology and devices Fiona Campbell
Type 1 diabetes adjuctive agent studies David Dunger
Type 2 diabetes and metabolism studies Christina Wei
Rare diabetes Tim Barrett
Adolescence/transition studies Melanie Kershaw
Care pathways and processes studies Tabitha Randell
Diabetes education studies Melanie Kershaw

NIHR CRN Diabetes UK and BSPED Clinical Studies Group full membership list:

Chair: Dr Carlo Acerini 

Endocrinology group

Diabetes group

Noina Abid

Noina Abid

Tim Barrett

Carlo Acerini

Indi Banerjee

Aileen Alston

Hannah Batchelor

Shailini Bahl

Jo Blair

Rachel Besser

Tim Cheetham

Sarah Bennett

Mehul Dattani

Chris Bidder

David Dunger

Jo Blair

John Gregory

Nicola Bridges

Nils Krone

Fiona Campbell

Leah Li

Peter Davies

Helen Storr

David Dunger

Christina Wei

Martha Ford-Adams

Jarod Wong

Viv Gill

Neil Wright

John Gregory


Alok Gupta


Peter Hindmarsh


Neil Hopper


Peter Hindmarsh


Neil Hopper


Piyusha Kapila


Melanie Kershaw


Gomathi Margabanthu


Clare Megson


Chris Moudiotis


Anuja Natarajan


May Ng


Nicola Trevelyan


Justin Warner


Christina Wei